So, you've made a mistake, and information was accidentally deleted from your website. You're in luck, because your website is backed up nightly. So, what do you do next?
Step one is to contact us, either by phone or through the support system. Step two is to determine, with us, which backup restore option will work best for your circumstance.
We generally have 2 options to attempt to recover lost content:
The first option is to restore the entire website with the latest website backup. We automatically backup the database and assets each night between 11:30pm and 12:30am. The nightly backups are stored for up to 30 days. This option completely restores the website to a prior state, usually to the day before the error was made. The downside of this option is that any changes made to the website content between the mistake and the latest nightly backup, would be lost upon restore.
The second options is to restore the latest website backup to the BETA website. Then, to recreate the specific lost content manually, using the BETA as a reference. The downside to this option is that it requires extra manual work to rebuild content. However, it also has the benefit of not destroying content that was created in the time between the latest backup and the mistake.
Which option is used depends on how much content was lost vs. how much content was created in the time since the latest backup. Get in touch with us, and we'll help determine which option is the best course of action to get things back to the way they should be.